jump to navigation

My Big Storyland plan October 19, 2009

Posted by lil D in tv.
trackback

Keen readers of my blog (lol) will remember me singing the praises of Hardy Bucks, a very very funny online mini-series. The show came to the attention of the masses through a pilot initiative run by RTÉ, Storyland, where the public service broadcaster called out to fresh talent to get involved in RTÉ drama. The idea was to commission the first episode of 10 different shows, and to let the public vote and decide which show deserved the funding to create the next episode in the series. I personally think it’s a great idea and credit where credit is due to RTÉ, who claim that they are the first broadcaster to do something like this.

Storyland

The good news is that after the success of Storyland, the big shots in RTÉ have given the go-ahead for Storyland 2, with minor improvements:

  • There will 6 series commissioned instead of the 10 last year.
  • Each series will be commissioned to make two episodes (people must have felt that one episode wasn’t enough to draw people in.)
  • Gaps between episodes will be shorter (I hope it gets a regular time. Imagine every Friday at 8pm all around Ireland is Storyland time?)
  • There will be a discussion forum on the website.

If you’re proper interested, there’s a three-part video explaining it all here.

If you’re getting bored, I’ll cut to the chase…

I have an idea. I want to enter.

With the exception of Hardy Bucks, I feel I could write a better drama mini-series that appeals to the 18+ audience that last years applicants. I know it’s a big claim, and that it would be very cheeky for a full-time student to go into a competition with a load of production companies and experienced writers, but they’re doing it wrong!

The deadline is fast approaching, and I need two scripts and a marketing plan and a director/producer/crew by November 1st. I’ve got nothing. This isn’t looking good like…

So why the fuck am I telling you guys? If you’re destined to fail, why publicise it? Because now that it’s publicised, I don’t wanna look like an idiot. If you guys are expecting me to do it, it puts pressure on me. And I only work under pressure.

Every time you see me, I want you to ask me how the writing is going (“writing”, I feel like a ponce).

AND if you’re intrigued and want to be a part of this, I’m all ears.

You have to start somewhere. Fuck YouTube, I’m starting with RTÉ.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

