jump to navigation

Does this ring a bell? September 14, 2009

Posted by lil D in cycling, dublin.
trackback
For weeks I’ve been faffing on about dublinbikes to anyone who would listen. The new bike sharing scheme, similar to those found in Brussels, Vienna and Paris was rolled out today in Dublin city centre and I just couldn’t wait to get my grubby hands on a “db” and fly around the city.


Armed with my annual card (€10) and high hopes, I got on my own bike and flew into town to cycle another bike.

I arrived at Cathal Brugha Street station, (which I located with the Dublinbikes App), locked up my Raleigh Resonator Pro and marched up the the db machine. A few seconds later, I picked a bike from stand no. 5 and off I pedaled.


As I whizzed up Kildare Street on my robust bicycle, fully equipped with three gears, adjustable saddle, backlight, basket and a BELL(!), I gave Leinster house a thumps up and said “Good lads”.


But will it last? Well only people who have registered their credit card deets can take a spin, and they look well secured to the stands, with magnets and science and that. Although they are still vulnerable to little dicks with hurley sticks.


My FREE 30 mins was coming to an end, so I stopped on Exchequer Street. I wanted to see I could just return a bike and take another one out right away for another FREE half an hour. Turns out I couldn’t. I was a little pissed off about this, because it meant I had to walk back across town, BUT along the way, I tried again and it turns out you only have to wait around 10 mins and off ya go again. Delighted!


Flaws? A few incey tincey teeny weeny ones. For instance the lock supplied with the bike could be a bit longer. Not a big dealio.


Overall, I’m impressed. I wish I could buy people subscriptions as presents, but I can’t so you’re all going to have to do it yourselves.


On yer bike!


[Image: Dublin City Council]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

